Help with converting vector to "stitch" format?

johnnygriswold

Thanks in advance for any help or insight...

Below is a custom logo that I created for my band and I'd like to create a custom embroidered crest to place on a hockey jersey. A friend of mine knows someone who embroiders who says that they will do the embroidery for cheap as long as I can get my vector image digitized (or something like that).

Is there a way I can convert this vector in Illustrator to give the embroiderer what they need? I'm certainly not a cheapskate, but if I can cut some costs by doing things myself, I'd rather do that.

Of course, as a graphic designer, I'm always open to trade services. :)

usalogo.png

Liberty Design Industries - Graphic Design

Here's basically what I was told when I asked a buddy who owned a embroidery shop to do some patches for my former college hockey team.

Digitizing is the act of taking an image that is either raster (JPEG) or vector (EPS) and converting it into stitching commands for a commercial embroidery machine. Most times with doing custom embroidery, the digitizing cost is the most expensive item - far more expensive than the actual stitching itself for small runs. Digitizing software is fairly expensive ($15k per license for some) and it's not as simple as a plugin for Illustrator or Photoshop or anything like that. There are overseas digitizing "farms" if you will that you can contact online to get cheap digitizing done. Pricing is normally per 1k stitches. A small logo for a golf shirt or hat estimate was $30-50 depending on where you outsource it.

Thanks in advance for any help or insight...

Below is a custom logo that I created for my band and I'd like to create a custom embroidered crest to place on a hockey jersey. A friend of mine knows someone who embroiders who says that they will do the embroidery for cheap as long as I can get my vector image digitized (or something like that).