how long have you been collecting jerseys?

oars

I'm not a collector, but I do think it's interesting. I'm new to these forums and have enjoyed reading, and learning from, the threads so far.

What got you into it, and how long have you been collecting?

(Sorry if there's already a post similar to this, I couldn't find one in the search.)

Got my first when I was 7 (still have it) and have been asking for jerseys for birthday presents/gifts since (well, now cash so I can buy the jerseys I want), so I have been collecting for almost 12 years.

Nice! I was just thinking today about how I had a youth Blackhawks jersey in like 4th grade. Wish I still had it, I don't even remember who was on it. :(

I bought my first hockey jersey in 1982 or 1983 while I was in high school. I still have that jersey.

Strangely, I've always kind of liked jerseys, but I never bought my first one until about a year and a half ago. It was seconds after buying it that I realized I'd been missing out on something that I should have started years ago. I joined this forum a few months later when I decided I wanted to learn as much as a I could about fakes and the hobby in general before I started to buy more. It's the reason I've been able to avoid fakes entirely. Realistically, I've only truly been collecting jerseys for about a year and I think I have 16 right now. I'd probably have more if I didn't decide to focus more time and money on actually customizing the things. I kind of look at it as the adult version of collecting cards, and I get a very similar sort of enjoyment out of it. I very much enjoy the hunting down and trading aspect of it, as well. I'm just more annoyed with myself that it took me so long to realize this. I have vivid memories of being a kid and there being another kid in my class that wore an Yzerman jersey all the time and thinking it was the coolest thing ever.

I had two jerseys, a North Stars and a Gophers college jersey until one day...