Thinking long term about my collection...

Hockey Bob

So, I have been collecting for a few years and all my friends / family think I am nuts.

I have turned another friend on to collecting and his wife wants to strangle me.

If he and I are out and we talk about jerseys or something we saw pop up on E-bay there is a collective groan from the group usually followed up with a "Here we go again"...

I don't have any kids (and thinking I don't want one at this stage in the game)

Just wondering, have any of you thought about what you will eventually do with your collection?

Are you going to sell it, leave it in a Will to someone, take it to the grave with you?

I have thought about leaving them to the IJ board in some demented raffle when I am on my deathbed but life throws curveballs and ya never know when yer number is up.

I guess this is inspired from the estate sales I see popping up on E-bay

http://www.ebay.com/sch/sfv1962/m.html?item=270935256389&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWAX%3AIT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649&_trksid=p4340.l2562

I'd hate to see some of my gems go for next to nothing because my family didn't care or didn't know what they were worth.

• Replies 113
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I would probably take one to the grave, but the rest will more than likely go to my daughter who can do as she pleases. The hobby part of collecting has given to me lasting memories and I have made a couple of friends along the way, but because it's my passion, it does not necessarily translate to be my daughters passion. So, it's up to her to decide what she does with them. And if she is able to put that towards her passion, then I am very happy.